I have been feeling a sense of anxiety over the past few days, and I can’t quite put my finger on the source. Granted, we are moving to our new city this week, and for the first time ever, have MOVERS! To pack and load and move our stuff! All I have to do is sit here and work on stuff (other stuff). This blows my mind, and I think it is a luxury which I’ll never do without again. Also, we are leaving our home for the past 4 years, leaving the very first house we ever bought together (well, our very first house, period). It was a tough 4 years, being away from so many friends and family, going through residency with its associated stressors, exams, etc….but at the same time we met some amazing people. We made some wonderful memories of our own here. Cooking Thanksgiving dinner for just ourselves (and maybe a new resident) started here, and I cherish it. Our next door neighbors have become great friends, and I will miss them dearly. My running girls, with whom I accomplished something I never would have thought possible (half-marathon), and got to spend Saturdays first running our hearts out and then stuffing ourselves with well-deserved breakfast afterwards. I think I’ve said it before, but something about forging friendships in the extremes of weather and physical performance bonds them more quickly and more solidly than others. I can’t forget all the people I’ve worked with and for throughout my training at the cancer center either. I know with every July 1st, new residents start, people take on new roles and those of us who’ve finished are quickly put aside, if not forgotten. But I can say without doubt that everyone there, in some capacity, has mentored me, taught me, and been great to work with. I wish them the best.

I have spent much time and energy the past few months on getting things ready for my new job (licensing and such), studying for board exams, finding a place to live when it looked like we wouldn’t be selling our house in time to buy one…I haven’t given much of a thought to saying goodbye to our home of the past four years. I sit here today, feeling sad that we are moving on from all that we have here, but also very excited about what’s to come. I hope everyone here knows how much they have meant to us, and everyone in our “new” town knows how happy we are to be coming back to them.